World Cup Semi Finals 2022: Teams qualified, bracket, match schedule, fixtures and how they work

It is hard to believe that we are still only days away from getting to know the teams at the 2022 FIFA World Cup. The finals are the next level on tap early next week.

According to the FIFA World Cup tradition, the second half will take place on different dates with one semi-final on Tuesday, December 13 and the other on Wednesday, December 14.

It means one of the World Cup finalists will get a break before the final on Sunday, December 18.

The underdogs in the semis will have one last chance to end the tournament on a positive note with the third game taking place on the final night.

MORE: How to suspend players for a World Cup or final

World Cup Semifinal Schedule

There are eight teams competing in the finals. Two of the semifinalists were decided on Friday, December 9, and the others were scheduled for Saturday, December 10.

World Cup Quarter Final

Finals of the World Cup

Day Compatible Time
Tuesday, December 13 Argentina vs. Croatia 2/7 p.m Lusail
Wey, December 14 France vs. Morocco 2/7 p.m Al Bayt

MORE: When is the 2022 FIFA World Cup final?

Also Read :  Live updates: Russia's war in Ukraine
FIFA World Cup bracket December 10 update PM

Argentina vs Croatia

  • Date: Tuesday, December 13
  • Time: 2 pm ET / 7 pm GMT / 10 pm local time in Qatar
  • Stadium: Lusail Iconic Stadium (Lusail, Qatar)

Croatia shocked the world by beating Brazil on penalty kicks in the quarter-finals to face Argentina in the World Cup semi-finals on Tuesday.

Argentina may be favorites against Croatia, but this match will be competitive. The European team knows how to hold on aggressively as their five games so far in Qatar have shown.

Croatia beat Argentina 3-0 in the last World Cup match and the team’s record is even though they have won twice in each match. They only shared two World Cup matches with Argentina claiming a narrow 1-0 victory in 1998.

France vs Morocco

  • Date: Wednesday, December 14
  • Time: 2 pm ET / 7 pm GMT / 10 pm local time in Qatar
  • Stadium: Al Bayt Stadium (Al Khor, Qatar)

World Cup defending champions France are back in the semifinals and will be favorites against Morocco while the Atlas Lions will be the first African team to reach the semifinals.

Morocco have the longest run of the eight teams to reach the quarter-finals, but they haven’t been good enough yet. They have made it through their front three attacks with expert defense and inspired play.

Also Read :  Helicopter crash near Kyiv kills 14, including Ukraine's interior minister

With a group of people traveling and many traveling from Morocco to Qatar, the Moroccans have what it takes to give a big problem to France and the presence of many of their supporters can be the difference.

Morocco won only one match against France in 11 matches played all season and that came back in 1963. Their last meeting came in 2007 (1-2-2 friendly).

MORE: Who will win the 2022 World Cup? This is what the mess is saying

How the semifinals work

Just like the previous round of football, the semi-finals will be single elimination and there must be a winner after each match.

So if there is a draw after 90 minutes, these teams will get 30 extra periods to decide the winner. Overtime is not sudden death. (In other words, it’s not another goal-winning situation or a ‘golden goal’.)

How penalty kicks work

If the teams are still deadlocked after extra time, the game will go to a penalty shoot-out where each team tries to score through penalties. The team with the most successful conversions after five attempts is declared the winner. If the teams are still tied after five rounds, they will go round again until the tiebreaker.

Also Read :  France celebrates WCup victory, fans cheer Morocco team

World Cup News

In the eight men’s World Cup competitions held since 1994, 17 different countries have used the 32 holes in the 17th round listed below with six of the most impressive performances this season.

A total of 12 of the 17 countries are from Europe, three from South America, one from Africa (Morocco in 2022), and only one from Asia, surprisingly South Korea ran to the final four when they prepare the competition.

Among the quarter-finalists in 2022, Morocco were the only participants in the first half after defeating Portugal with a dramatic 1-0 victory.

MORE: Who is the greatest World Cup winner in history?

Shop SF
since 1994
Argentina 2 2014, 2022
Belgium 1 2018
Brazil 4 1994, 1998, 2002, 2014
Bulgaria 1 1994
Croatia 3 1998, 2018, 2022
England 1 2018
France 3 1998, 2006, 2018
Germany 4 2002, 2006, 2010, 2014
Italy 2 1994, 2006
Morocco 1 2022
The Netherlands 3 1998, 2010, 2014
Portugal 1 2006
South Korea 1 2002
Spain 1 2010
Sweden 1 1994
Turkey 1 2002
Uruguay 1 2010


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button