Far Cry 6: Lost Between Worlds DLC Review

While Far Cry 6’s previous DLC may have put past villains from the series into the spotlight, the latest expansion returns to familiar territory in a different way: by jumping the shark. Throwing you back in the shoes of Dani Rojas, Lost Between Worlds is all about an alien entity called Fai that crash-lands in Yara, creating a multitude of time rifts and portals to alternate dimensions. What ensues is a semi-roguelite web of interconnected levels that you’re free to play in any order you want. It was such a perfect way to end Dani’s story that I found myself happily plowing through all six hours of the day, even though it was basically like the main game version.

Similar to how Far Cry 3 brought us neon-dripped Dragon Blood, Far Cry 4 gave us a fantastic valley of Yetis, and Far Cry 5 dropped us out on Mars, Lost Between Worlds is not afraid to stamp off Far Cry 6 by being a bit weird. Fai’s arrival scatters five shards into alternate dimensions, and needs your help to find the shards and reassemble his ship to get off the planet. Fortunately, just the process of collecting shards should save the world from ending as well – convenient, right? The best way I found fun with Lost Between the Worlds was to immediately give into the suspension of disbelief. There is no real explanation for the alien craft crashed into Yara and sooner I realized that it is not a problem, the sooner I was having fun blasting away in colorful DLC, crystalline enemies.

Collecting shards means venturing through portals into destabilized twists in the real world called rifts. Each rift looks like a cool, weird-world version of Yara and is basically a standalone level with unique qualities that bring new challenges. For example, one rift suffers from periodic lightning strikes, another features a slow spiral of doom from the clouds, and another is completely pitch black other than the pink glow of precious shards.

While venturing through the rifts you can also collect sparkling “Glint” fragments. When you die, you can spend Glint to revive at the start of that rift if you’re good enough – otherwise dying means you’ll have to restart your whole life at the start of the Rift and Fai web. It’s a welcome fail for anyone not into the more traditional roguelike formula, but I actually didn’t die very often throughout Lost Between Worlds, and rolled through the credits with 1,000 Glint saved.

A smart progression structure dramatically reduces repetition.

Once you reach the end of a rift, you must choose between two portals (red or blue, naturally) to advance further. The portals are simply gateways to your choice of two other random rifts, and the ones they lead to remain the same for the entire run. It provides a nice sense of mixing things up as you go through new portals, but also means you’ll know where to connect them if you need to backtrack on connections later. Your map even shows you which portals connect to which unlocked cracks, so you don’t have to guess once you visit each crack at least once.

Also Read :  Tech titan John Carmack leaves Meta as doubts swirl about Mark Zuckerberg’s metaverse push

After every shard you collect, Fai gives you a new piece of gear to speed up your rift journey. For example, after you bring back the first shard, he will give you a C4-style bomb that can be used to open a shortcut on the next rift visit. Other gadgets include a grappling hook for scaling walls to get through sections and a key to open previously locked doors that usually contain loot. This is a great progression structure because it dramatically reduces repetition if you’re not required to play through all the rifts all over again every time you visit.

Outside of that handful of permanent gear upgrades, all the weapons and gadgets you’ve collected along the way will be lost whenever you collect shards or die trying. Since there are only a handful of weapons to find, I like this feature because it forces you to adapt to what is available instead of picking a favorite gun and never move. Instead, it helps each rift stay entertaining even if you visit it a second or third time.

Because all the rifts criss-cross and interconnect in various ways, you don’t even have to visit the same rift more than once or twice if you don’t want to. For example, I really hated the Rift that requires you to swim around underwater, so you float from bubble to bubble while trying not to drown. It’s plain annoying and tedious, like most water levels. So, I just avoided it on all my other shard collecting trips. I prefer this style to the variety of pre-meditation for procedural generation or the random rift options that Ubisoft can choose from here, letting me play each scenario in the order I like.

Another major twist that Lost Between Worlds introduces is “chromatic combat.” All enemies in this DLC are crystallized humanoid creatures that are either pure blue or pure red – in order to destroy one, you have to shoot them with their matching color by changing the color of the bullet itself on the fly. (Although, for some odd reason, the default keybinding on PC for changing colors is ‘L’, which was annoying until I changed it to my mouse’s thumb button.)

Unfortunately, this idea of ​​changing colors doesn’t really add much since enemies seem to always spawn in the same place every time you visit a rift and swapping is as easy as pressing a button. Other than enhancing the visuals of the mundane worlds on display, it serves no purpose. That’s true because there are only a few actual enemy types between your standard assault rifle users, snipers, melee rushers, and protected machine gunners. I would have preferred better encounter design or more creative enemy AI over adding color-changing layers to combat.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Articles

Back to top button